Created by HOMM interactive
» Start diashow
Online Reservation


The history of the "Seeburg" can be traced back to 1584, when Hieronymus von Hertenstein bought the Seeburg estate. In 1624 Hans Ludwig Pfyffer, son of the then mayor, gave the property to the Jesuits who used it as their summer residence until 1774. In 1835, under the name "Hotel zur schönen Ansicht", the establishment was incorporated in Lucerne's hotel trade. From the very outset, the "Seeburg" enjoyed a reputation as a popular excursion destination offering excellent cuisine. At the end of the 19th century the Englishman Quintin Hogg acquired the estate. Under the name "The Polytechnic Chalets Lucerne" the establishment, which today is the HOTEL Seeburg, became known and appreciated, especially in England, as an excellent holiday destination in the heart of Switzerland. The Hogg family remained the establishment's proud owners for five generations.

Hôtel, Pension et Restauration Seeburg au Lac Werbe-Lithographie ca. Mitte 19. Jahrhundert „Hôtel, Pension et Restauration Seeburg au Lac“ Werbe-Lithographie ca. Mitte 19. Jahrhundert

In 1997 the Lucerne family Alex Schärer-Reinhard acquired the Seeburg hotel property, and the son, Thomas Schärer, took on the role of manager. The unique character and special charm of the place has been preserved to this day.

Altes Eingangsportal Hotel Seeburg – Postkarte Beginn 20. Jahrhundert Altes Eingangsportal „Hotel Seeburg“ – Postkarte Beginn 20. Jahrhundert

The panoramasaal - an art-historical gem. The magnificent panoramasaal in the chalet gardenia is among Switzerland's most beautiful function rooms. Built in 1905 based on plans provided by the building firm Segesser Bros. unter the instruction of Quintin Hogg, the room derives its name from the monumental wall painting measuring 15x6 m and featuring the panorama from the Männlichen summit to the Jungfrau massif and Lauterbrunnen. The picture was painted by the Swiss artist Ernst Hotel in oil on canvas for the 1896 trade fair in Geneva. Today the painting measures a third of its original exhibition size and is in excellent condition. The 8 ceiling paintings featuring angels are originals by Angelika Kauffmann and originate - together with the 7 chanderliers, the mirrors and wooden pillars, which cover the base supports of chalet gardenia - from the old and venerable Hotel Ritz in London.

Englische Soldaten erholen sich in der Seeburg - Gruppenfoto Archiv The Polytechnic Institut London aus der Zeit des Ersten Weltkrieges 1914/18
Englische Soldaten erholen sich in der Seeburg - Gruppenfoto Archiv „The Polytechnic Institut London“ aus der Zeit des Ersten Weltkrieges 1914/18
Gartenanlage Seeseite mit Bootshaus um 1900
Gartenanlage Seeseite mit Bootshaus um 1900
Rigisaal - social room ca. Mitte 1930-er Jahre
“Rigisaal” - social room ca. Mitte 1930-er Jahre
Panoramasaal - dining room ca. 1938
„Panoramasaal“ - dining room ca. 1938
Rosenheim und Chalet Gardenia um 1910
„Rosenheim“ und „Chalet Gardenia“ um 1910

Further features of particular charm include the original jesuitenhof with its ornate white marble fountain, as well as the enchanting rosengarten with boathouse and the sunset bar located right on the shores of Lake Lucerne.

In 2003 the connecting building between the Chalet Gardenia and the Seeburg 61 with the modern banquet and conference room "Seeburgsaal", the reception and lobby area as well as the Restaurant Alexander has been realized.

In September 2011 the new managing director, Mr. Jon Clalüna, took over the leadership of the Hotel Seeburg. During the winter period 2012 and 2013 the soft renovation of the building Seeburg 61 has been done.

In 2014 the brothers André and Bruno Amberg from Lucerne will take over the shares of Seeburg Hotels AG and want to take the oldest hotel by Lake Lucerne into the future.